Loading Events

« All Events

Hybrid Hybrid Event
  • This event has passed.

NZFSS-CHC: KnowYourStuffNZ: Reducing the need for harm reduction

April 28 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Hybrid Hybrid Event

The organizers of the Christchurch branch of ANZFSS would like to invite you to a hybrid in-person + Zoom presentation by our guest speakers Anna Spurdle and Finn Boyle.

WHEN: Thursday, April 28, 2022

Time: Chch / Wellington / Auckland / Dunedin: 6-7pm, Sydney / Melbourne / Brisbane: 4-5pm, Adelaide, Darwin: 3:30-4:30pm, Perth: 2-3pm

WHAT: KnowYourStuffNZ: Reducing the need for harm reduction

KnowYourStuffNZ is a community organisation providing drug-related harm reduction services including drug checking in New Zealand. In this presentation, Finn Boyle and Anna Spurdle will share some insights from data and experience relating to the work of KnowYourStuffNZ while exploring values and tensions arising within the context of harm reduction, drug use, and drug policy in New Zealand.

WHO: Anna Spurdle and Finn Boyle

Anna Spurdle is a front-line health professional working within Mental Health and has seen first-hand in her professional and personal life the consequences of poorly informed recreational drug use. Inspired by the organisation’s pragmatic approach to providing effective harm reduction, she stepped into a Regional Lead role within KnowYourStuffNZ to establish a Christchurch branch. Anna hopes to see the work of KnowYourStuffNZ continue to assist the growth of harm reduction services in New Zealand and changes in the narrative around recreational drug use more broadly.

 Finn Boyle is an experienced druggie, a professional compost nerd and the Training Coordinator for KnowYourStuffNZ. Working from a core value of wellbeing and guided by socio-ecological frameworks, Finn hopes to see his work with KYSNZ become redundant so he can spend his time regenerating soils instead.

WHERE: In-person: B130 Media Room at Christchurch Central Police Station at 40 Lichfield Street

Register by CoB on April 27 (registration essential for seating and catering purposes): viktoria.papp@mbie.govt.nz

Arrive from 5:30pm NZDT for networking + pizza

For a Zoom link please register here: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUqdO6spz4sHtXNEnhLDD9xCX4hlQD8P-HN

COST (in-person): Members $5; non-members $8; students koha.

Exact cash please, or evidence of bank transfer: 02-0800-0875171-000

Please feel free to distribute this email within your organisation.

 

Ngā manaakitanga | Kind regards,

Vica (Viktória) Papp, PhD, MSc, MA (they / them)

NZFSS-CHC branch chair

Details

Date:
April 28
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Category:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUqdO6spz4sHtXNEnhLDD9xCX4hlQD8P-HN

Organiser

NZ Branch