Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

NZFSS-CHC March 24: Protection vs Privacy Zoom Event

March 24 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Virtual Event Virtual Event

Kia ora everyone,

The next event of the Christchurch Branch of the Australia New Zealand Forensic Science Society will be hosted on Zoom only, with no in-person component.

Date and time: Thursday, March 24, 2022

               Wellington: 6-7pm

               Sydney, Melbourne: 4-5pm

               Adelaide: 3:30-4:30pm

               Brisbane: 3-4pm

               Perth: 1-2pm

Title: Protection Versus Privacy: Public expectations about the use of covert social media intelligence in New Zealand

Presenter: Olivia Cleaver (Senior Analyst), MBIE

Abstract: Government agencies in New Zealand are often scrutinised for breaching reasonable expectations of privacy, when conducting social media intelligence (SOCMINT). This talk will discuss recent research addressing the gap between privacy expectations, social licence and outcome of SOCMINT use. This will be done by comparing New Zealand public expectations about SOCMINT techniques with government agencies’ policies.

Learning takeaway points:

– Understanding where SOCMINT work fits with current government oversight

– How SOCMINT work fits with the NZ Privacy Act

– Understanding current public expectations

Registration linkhttps://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0qde6oqTIsG9FFDh3l02RAaUvOB3qrDZyW

Details

Date:
March 24
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Category:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0qde6oqTIsG9FFDh3l02RAaUvOB3qrDZyW