Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Drugs in wastewater – Whose idea was that?! – Zoom + in-person in Christchurch

October 20 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm NZDT

Presenter: Andrew Chappell (ESR)

Date: Thursday, October 20

Time:

  • NZ: 6pm
  • AEDT: 4pm
  • ACDT: 3.30pm
  • AEST: 3pm
  • ACST: 2:30pm
  • ACWST: 2pm
  • AWST: 1pm

Event type: Zoom + in-person in Christchurch

On Zoom: Join Zoom Meeting
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84310498733?pwd=TnZNTkIyQkh3Y0JBRWhPQ0JtWHNKQT09

Meeting ID: 843 1049 8733
Passcode: 689180
One tap mobile
+61731853730,,84310498733#,,,,*689180# Australia
+61861193900,,84310498733#,,,,*689180# Australia

Dial by your location
+61 7 3185 3730 Australia
+61 8 6119 3900 Australia
+61 8 7150 1149 Australia
+61 2 8015 6011 Australia
+61 3 7018 2005 Australia
+64 4 886 0026 New Zealand
+64 9 884 6780 New Zealand
+64 3 659 0603 New Zealand
Meeting ID: 843 1049 8733
Passcode: 689180

In person in Christchurch:

Where: Media Room B130 at the Police Central, 40 Lichfield St, Christchurch NZ

When: 5:30-6:00: speed networking with pizza, 6-7pm: presentation

Registration: please register with Vica Papp at viktoria.papp@mbie.govt.nz to ensure we have enough pizza / seats

Logistics: please arrive at the main doors of the Police station from 5:30pm onwards. To be allowed on site, you will need be issued with a visitor’s pass by our NZ Police member. Police staff attending the presentation can make their way directly to Media Room B130. Please bring exact change to cover the entrance fee or show evidence of bank transfer to 02-0800-0875171-000. Some change will be available but limited.

Entry: NZFSS Members: $5, Non-members: $8, Students: koha.

Bio: Andrew Chappell is a senior scientist at ESR with over 20 years’ experience in environmental and food chemistry. His professional passion is analytical chemistry, and for the last six years he has been leading the Drugs in Wastewater programme. In 2016 he worked with Police to develop the methodology and undertake a trial to prove the concept in New Zealand, and it has grown from there.

Abstract: After growing from small beginnings, New Zealand now has the most comprehensive Drugs in Wastewater (DIWW) monitoring programme in the world, based on population coverage. With over four years of data covering much of the country, this presentation will share

  • how the technique works,
  • some interesting trends,
  • one off events we have detected,
  • how do we compare,
  • what else can we look for,
  • as well as deal with the most important question: “so what?”

Details

Date:
October 20
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm NZDT
Event Categories:
,